Hajar birth story

by vyyvaa

when i woke up in the morning, i didn’t really feel today is the day i will have my baby, nor did it occur to me it would be my last day at my place…we made love, and tried to sleep… but couldn’t, just kept talking, and then decided to go up, had a bath, and in an hour i convinced Ot i may need to be induced for labor today, he refused, and said only when its extremely necessary will i go through induced labor… when we stepped out of the apartment, i told Ot he needs to put the hospital bag in the car.. he was reluctant at first.. he wanted to confirm to him self i will not have the baby today, and i wanted to confirm to myself.. i will!

we took the bag… and when we arrive at the dr’s office, she saved no word to scare Ot into accepting induced labor, i was about to cry, the reality shocked me… i am not prepared! i will be a mother today!!!
no more pregnant , a wife plus one! we will be a family today!! we stepped outside her office into our hospital suite. i was in tears, and Ot was in the after denial stage… close to shocked, but closer to scared… of what’s about to happen. he was unusual, but still managed to tell me he will be on my side through it all….

we have made two decisions in this pregnancy, to make the sex of the baby a delivery surprise, and not to tell any one if i do go into labor until i have delivered safely. so it was about 6 pm, and none of our families knew where we were…
i was on the hospital bed, examination showed 2 cm dialated, we were watching tv, laughing or playing around until about 9 pm… i got induced, and in a matter of minutes my contractions started, i struggled with my breathing technique to reduce the pain, and even though Ot felt painfully clueless, he offered his hand that i squeezed so hard at each contraction climax… the contractions quickly became more difficult and intense, i quit breathing and opted for screams and cries instead… through this i did pray to God for as many people as i could remember…
at about 10:30, the nurse felt alarmed by the speed of my contractions and their strength.. she called my dr, and in a matter of minutes, i was taken to the delivery room. i remember telling Ot not to leave me… and he confirmed his stay as much as he could. we were in the elevator together, the hallway together, the delivery room was the first barrier… he was not allowed in, but told me he will wait outside the door for as long as it takes…
it didn’t take long, by 12:!0 am, 24th of april, 2008…. a baby girl, hajar, arrived… laterΒ  Ot told me that he kept pacing back and forth the whole time i was in the labor room, he could hear my cried over and over, and he heard the dr ordering me to push, and to stop pushing, and then to push again, … silence… and then the baby cries!!! they told him to come in, and he heard me mumble his name over and over… i remember seeing him in the delivery room, i remember calling his name… and then that’ about it until after a few hours later, i was sent back up to the suite.

he called my family as soon as i delivered, called his… and told them that we had a baby girl…

Hajar Ot.

