Hajj, and book club

by vyyvaa

Its midnight, hajar and Ot are asleep. And I’m struck by bookcase cleaning desire…

Hajj was amazing, there was a liberating feeling about it, a sense completeness, but God help us women… we do love chat and shopping…………… 9 days don’t seem to be short enough to halt on those two! Hajj was easy, spiritual, it wasn’t as frightening as everybody made it seem thanks to God. The most important thing I learnt in this Hajj, is that we need to be completely faithful to God in every thing we do, very hard aspect, but crucial 100%. They also made it so easy to concentrate only on God, worshipping, reading qoran and islamics, you simply have all the time for it, you don’t have to worry about cleaning, cooking, kids, family, going out, TV, or continuous phone calls, no distractions whatsoever, and that’s something you cant have every day… even on your vacation outside Kuwait, you still have a lot of distractions, hajj is the only time you have FULL time for God….thats what I honestly felt…

We reached Kuwait 5 am in the morning, that didn’t put us off from heading first to mom’s and picking up Hajar, she took a long time trying to figure me out, but all her dad had to do is smile… and she was sold….

I attended the first meeting for starbucks sponsored book club. I loved it, so excited to be a part of it, and soon we will start choosing books to read and discuss… the site to join the club is www.diwanbooksclub.com , it has a different mix, boys and men, girls and women… highly intellectual, and those seeking guidance to start reading.. book club founder Yusuf Khaleefa did a good job starting this project, and I hope it keeps going strong. I felt I am in.. And it’s not an easy or repetitive feeling to have.. To know that you are in the right place, that you belong, understand, and fear the time may slip away too fast…

In the meeting, I had to introduce my self, usually its an easy thing to do… but this time, I had a change of heart about my usual: I’m an engineer-theme. I added wife and mother.

It felt different, good different


